h1

“Wicked” Fashion

May 23, 2010

This past weekend in London has been amazing, I got to see a lot of historic sites, museums, and even a Broadway musical. If you ever have the chance to go see Wicked do it ASAP, its amazing. Actually, I found it very interesting how casually dressed people were at the performance. Back in the states, I’ve seen several shows on Broadway including Phantom of the Opera and Cats. One thing that immediately stood out was the fact that show goers were not overly dressed up. I would say it was about 50/50 as far as people dressing semi-formal, or just in jeans and t-shirt. I think a lot of this probably stems from the high volume of tourists in this city ho may not have a lot of formal wear on hand.

Earlier in the day I had a chance to do a bit more shopping and fashion observation. I was able to visit a broad range of stores at different price points to observe consumers at all levels. The first place I visited was Harrods, I would say it is comparable to a giant Neimann Marcus. I also made it to Zara and Mango which are at the mid-range price point. The typical shopper at the stores was at first difficult to determine at first because it was packed with tourists. Thinking about it I think London in particular is a very tourist driven city. It’s impossible to try and describe the typical Londoner shopper because they are so inter mixed with visitors from others countries. Tourists are a large target market for companies so its vital to take them into consideration when observing fashion and what they like to buy as well. However I tried to find some Londoners specifically to see their shopping and fashion habits. One of the major things I observed was that in the UK moms and daughters are much more likely to shop together even through the teenage years. Back in the States I feel like most teens like to go shopping with their friends more often than their parents. I think its great that there seems to be  more of a focus on family in the UK when it comes to shopping. What I found funny is that moms were asking daughters about clothes to bu and daughters were asking their mom’s opinions too.

Tomorrow I will be heading to an ASDA which is a a discount department store owned by Wal-Mart in the UK. I think it will be incredibly interesting to see how consumers of a lower price point will act towards fashion and shopping.

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

