h1

Crossing the Pond

May 17, 2010

Cheers everyone! Lisa again, obviously feeling the London spirit 🙂

So far so good! Despite my BAG being left in Chicago. The doofs didn’t load it on the plane, so for those of you reading this who might be missing me, just know a significant amount of me is still in Chicago. I’m just glad I packed my blankey in my carry-on, which is embarassing, but I seriously don’t know what I’d do without it. I’m very superstitious when it comes to that thing. Anyway, we’ve just been getting settled into our apartment and going through orientation. The staff here with ACCENT is super cool, and I know they’re going to make sure that we make the most of our time here. I can’t wait to start doing more stuff and getting on foot. I’ll definitely be putting my Nikon to use.

The atmosphere on the plane over here was pretty relaxing having been a night flight. Personally, for someone who loves to travel as much as I do, it is a curse from the gods that I cannot sleep on airplanes. However, I always try and try to sleep no matter how much I fail. This time around, I thought taking notes on other peoples’ techniques would prove to be a success… nope.

Some Techniques I tried.. and failed
1. slumped over the food tray
2. sitting up, feet extended
3. curled up in a ball
4. arm propping up the head
and many, many more!

The majority of people I saw sleeping, including the two people on opposite sides of me as if set up to be some sort of a cruel joke, were sleeping sitting up. I am absolutely baffled by this tactic. I was convinced that all of these people doing this must have been a bunch of fakers… until the man next to me started snoring. Regardless, whether sleeping, half-sleeping, not sleeping, or fake sleeping, I can assure you that everybody in Business class (free upgrade!) on BA296 had a very relaxing flight.

Before I left, my dad said to me, “If anybody can stop a volcano from erupting it’s you Lisa!” I may have not stopped the ash cloud, but our flight was one of very few that went out that day, and I think that just maybe my good luck (or the good luck of my blankey) may have played a part.
and Here. We. Are.


“We live not according to reason, but according to fashion.”
– Seneca (Roman philosopher, mid-1st century AD)

Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

